Marion Koopmans member of U.S. National Academy of Sciences

The PDPC is proud of Professor in Virology, Marion Koopmans, scientific director of the PDPC. She has been selected as an international member of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS). The NAS is an American nonprofit organization made up of about 2,600 American and 537 world-class international scientists, including about 190 Nobel Prize winners.

Scientists are elected members of the NAS, by their peers, for their significant contributions to research. Membership is considered one of the highest honors a scientist can receive. Up to 120 new American members are elected annually. This year, Koopmans is one of 24 international members.

“Great news and I feel very honored of course. I have received congratulations from a large number of people whom I consider top in their (and my) field,” Koopmans responded enthusiastically. “I have occasionally participated as an external expert in the preparation of NAS opinions and then you really see the world’s scientific top at work. That’s super inspiring and I expect to learn a lot there.”

Animal, Nutritional and Applied Microbial Sciences Section

The NAS strives to advance science in America, provides advice to the United States federal government on issues where scientific insights are critical, and conducts independent studies. Its members are divided into 31 disciplinary sections. Professor Koopmans has the opportunity to join the Animal, Nutritional and Applied Microbial Sciences Section.

”I am curious to see what questions lie ahead. I am going to call one of the members first, to be caught up. In addition, of course to the inauguration, April next year. I’m really looking forward to it,” Koopmans concludes.

The NAS was established by an act of Congress signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. The journal Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, founded in 1914, is today among one of the most important international publications disseminating the results of original research.

Source: National Academy of Sciences (